News10 Sept 20268 min read

Sungrow buys Samsung SDI cells to keep US storage sales

Nikita Lutsenko, Founder & CEO, SOLTECHNikita LutsenkoFounder & CEO, SOLTECH
Sungrow turns to Samsung SDI LFP battery cells to sustain its US energy storage business

Sungrow will buy Samsung SDI LFP cells for its storage systems, a reported 3-year multi-GWh deal, as US rules split China-linked battery supply chains.

Sungrow will buy Samsung SDI battery cells for its own energy storage systems, mainly to keep serving the United States, a person familiar with the matter told ESS News on 9 September 2026. South Korean reporting points to a three-year deal worth trillions of won, supplying several gigawatt-hours a year. Volumes, pricing and manufacturing locations were not disclosed, and neither company commented.

What is confirmed about the Sungrow Samsung SDI battery cell deal

ParameterValueSource
BuyerSungrow, Chinese inverter and energy storage supplierESS News, 9 Sep 2026
SupplierSamsung SDI, South KoreaESS News, 9 Sep 2026
Cell chemistryLithium iron phosphate (LFP)The Elec, via ESS News
Reported termThree yearsThe Elec, via ESS News
Reported annual volumeSeveral GWh per yearThe Elec, via ESS News
Reported contract valueTrillions of Korean wonThe Elec, via ESS News
Primary purposeMaintain supply to the US storage marketESS News, 9 Sep 2026
Candidate production siteStarPlus Energy, Indiana (Samsung SDI and Stellantis JV)ESS News, 9 Sep 2026
Prismatic LFP mass production thereFrom Q4 2026Samsung SDI, via ESS News
Cathode supply behind itKRW 1.6 trillion (US$1.1bn) of LFP cathode material from L&F over three years, from 2027ESS News, 9 Sep 2026
Not disclosedVolume, value, schedule, assembly location, compliance routeBoth companies declined to comment

The gap in that table is the interesting part. A supply deal this size normally comes with a press release. This one arrived through a source and a Korean trade paper, which is what happens when the commercial terms are less sensitive than the compliance question sitting underneath them.

Why a Chinese supplier is buying Korean cells

US rules restricting China-linked battery components and equipment are forcing storage suppliers to rebuild their bills of materials. Sungrow has said publicly it has no plan to build manufacturing in the United States, while seeking deeper cooperation with overseas companies on components and services. Buying cells made outside China, potentially inside the United States, is the cheapest available route to a saleable product.

It is not an isolated move. On 1 September 2026, SK On signed a five-year reciprocal deal to supply NeoVolta Power with 9 GWh of LFP pouch cells from its US plants, part of an 18 GWh arrangement. Two Korean cell makers, two Chinese-exposed customers, four weeks apart. The pattern is a supply chain splitting into a US-compliant lane and a rest-of-world lane, priced differently.

What the split does to cell economics

Korean LFP cells made in the United States will not match Chinese cell prices. Chinese 314Ah storage cells traded around RMB 0.38/Wh (roughly US$0.053/Wh) in mid-2026 according to Gaogong Storage, and even after the September 2026 consumption tax increases they remain the global price floor. A US-made prismatic LFP cell carries higher labour, higher capital cost per gigawatt-hour and a shorter production history.

The buyer of a US project pays that difference. The buyer of a Gulf project does not — but shares a supplier whose engineering, cell allocation and warranty reserves are now split across two incompatible product families.

The SOLTECH view

Our position: this is a lead-time and product-continuity story for the Gulf, not a price story, and treating it as a price story will cost someone a schedule.

Where we disagree with the framing: several write-ups present this as Sungrow "diversifying" its supply chain, which reads as strength. It is closer to the opposite. A company that publicly rules out US manufacturing and then buys another firm's cells to stay in that market is managing an exclusion, not building an advantage. Being honest about that matters, because the same logic could one day apply to a Gulf procurement rule — and the question a UAE buyer should be asking is not whether Sungrow can serve America, but what its second source looks like here.

Caveat we will not paper over: the volume, value and manufacturing location are unconfirmed, and the customer in the original Korean report was unnamed. Everything above rests on one sourced confirmation. If Samsung SDI supplies from Korea rather than Indiana, the US-compliance logic weakens considerably and this becomes a much more ordinary purchase.

Sources: ESS News — Exclusive: Sungrow turns to Samsung SDI cells to sustain its energy storage business, 9 September 2026, pv magazine — Sungrow turns to Samsung SDI battery cells, 9 September 2026, Energy-Storage.News — SK On signs 18GWh reciprocal LFP supply deal with NeoVolta Power, 1 September 2026.

SOLTECH Solar Wiki · General information, not a design document. System-specific numbers always come from a site assessment. ← All articles

More in News

China's 2% battery tax pushes storage cell prices upFrom 1 September 2026 China levies a 2% tax on lithium batteries, rising to 4% in 2027. CATL lifted 314Ah cells to RMB 0.423/Wh and rivals followed. EU installs 33.8 GW of solar in the first half of 2026The EU added at least 33.8 GW of solar in H1 2026, up 1.9% year on year, and SolarPower Europe now expects 68.1 GW for the full year - 2.1% below the 2025 record. Solar module prices fall in Europe, bifacial TOPCon risesBack contact, full black and monofacial TOPCon prices all fell in Europe in August 2026, while bifacial TOPCon rose 6% to EUR 0.116/Wp - the cheapest module.
Contact us

Reach out — we reply within one business day

For savings proposals, site assessments, equipment quotes or partnership enquiries — send a message and a SOLTECH consultant will come back to you.

hello@soltech.solutions
  • All enquiries are actively monitored
  • Free site assessment, proposal in 24–48 h
  • Mon–Sat, 9:00–19:00 GST · Dubai, UAE

Please enter your phone number.

We work with sites from 10,000 kWh a month, about AED 3,969 on the bill.

By submitting this form you agree to be contacted by SOLTECH regarding your enquiry. See our Privacy Policy for what we collect and how to have it deleted.

Latest from the Solar Wiki

All articles →